Home » In The News » News Brief » New Immigration Order

New Immigration Order

by admin on 10th-March-2017

Washington, D.C.

On Monday, the President released version two of his executive order on immigration. President Trump was forced to issue a new order after his first attempt at such an order resulted in airport detentions, legal challenges and angry protests nationwide that resulted in the order being tied up in the courts. 

The new order, bans travel to the U.S. for 90 days from six of the same Muslim countries named in the original order including Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen; but this time, excludes Iraq. Iraq was allegedly excluded because it implemented new vetting procedures. The new order, also modified the original restriction on Syrian refugees. Instead of being banned indefinitely, they are now only restricted from entering the country for 120 days— this is equivalent to the same standard placed on all refugees.

Category: News Brief.
Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *